Welcome to Yvoir
 

 


History & geography 

 

Villages

 

 

 


In the vicinity

 

Virtual album

 

 

 YVOIR

Yvoir, a daughter of the Haute-Meuse, is laden with history, craft culture and local heritage. It has all the picturesque charm and welcoming virtues which flourish amid the gentle atmosphere of the Meuse.

Pretty little villages, often with evocative names, scattered between farmed fields, verdant pastures and leafy woodlands combine to form a rural, country setting of the finest quality, capable of enchanting lovers of nature and the great outdoors.

There's Spontin, with its mineral springs and famed syrups, old water mill and outstanding feudal castle; Purnode, with the Bocq brewery and its wide variety of old-fashioned farmhouse-style ales, Godinne with its priory, church, old farm, Mont and the Trou Bernard for potholing enthusiasts; Dorinne, Durnal and Evrehailles, with beautiful stone houses and Houx, overlooked by the Poilvache castle ruins, an amazing 13th & 14th-century medieval fortress, the biggest in the Meuse valley; and of course Yvoir itself, an old Meuse industrial town where stone quarrying and processing (sandstone and blue stone) took over from iron working, for which it had always been an important centre, from the Gaulish era to the end of the 19th century.

A few ironsmiths' houses, including the very fine Château de Bouvignes (1751), and a few items of local vocabulary (maka, marteau, etc.) recall the heyday of metalworking in Yvoir. The town is now firmly set on promoting and operating its many tourist and sports resources.

There is no lack of attractions. These include:
Ile d'Yvoir, lakes and 2-hectare recreational park; Poilvache castle, Bocq Brewery, the Domaine de Champalle natural reserve; a large multisport hall, tennis courts, climbing, pothotoling and water sports sites; the river and the Bocq, the meeting place for Gaulish knights and more besides.
A whole host of waymarked walks and cycle routes invite you to criss-cross this magnificent region and take a closer look at its beauty, its curiosities and get to know the local people.

From a simple tent on a camping site to luxury bed and breakfast accommodation, from friendly restaurants to star-graded gourmet 'relais' - there are many different accommodation and eating possibilities, all of which clearly add to the welcoming reputation of Yvoir and the surrounding area. 
 
Welcome one and all!

 

 
up
up

Bienvenue à Yvoir
 

 


Histoire & géo 

 

Les villages

 

 

 


Alentours

 

Album virtuel

 

 

 YVOIR !

Chargée d’histoire, de culture artisanale et de richesses patrimoniales, Yvoir, fille de Haute-Meuse, présente tous les charmes pittoresques et les vertus d’accueil dont « fleuronne » la douceur mosane.

De coquets villages avec des noms souvent évocateurs, entrecoupés de champs cultivés, de prairies verdoyantes et de boqueteaux d’essences feuillues, composent à l’entité un cadre rural et champêtre du meilleur aloi, propre à enchanter tous les amoureux de la nature et du grand air.

Voici Spontin, centre géographique de la Wallonie, avec ses sources minérales, son vieux moulin à aube et son remarquable château féodal ; voici Purnode et sa brasserie du Bocq aux nombreuses variétés de bières artisanales (à l’ancienne), Godinne et son prieuré, son église, sa vieille ferme, Mont et son Trou Bernard pour les férus de spéléologie ; voici Dorinne, Durnal, Evrehailles aux belles maisons de pierres et Houx, dominé par les ruines du château de Poilvache, merveilleuse forteresse médiévale (13e & 14e s.), la plus vaste de la vallée de la Meuse ; voici Yvoir même, ancien bourg mosan industrieux où l’extraction et la transformation de la pierre (grès, petit granit) ont supplanté le travail du fer, dont il fut un centre permanent et important de l’époque gauloise à la fin du 19e siècle.

Quelques maisons de maîtres de forges, dont le très beau château de Bouvignes (1751), et certains mots du vocabulaire local (maka, marteau…) évoquent cette prospérité métallurgique d’Yvoir, aujourd’hui résolument engagé dans la promotion et l’exploitation des nombreuses ressources touristiques et sportives de l’entité communale.

Les pôles d’attraction n’y manquent pas. Citons en pêle-mêle :
l’île d’Yvoir, ses plans d’eau et son parc récréatif de 2 ha ; le château de Poilvache, la Brasserie du Bocq, le Domaine de Champalle, réserve naturelle ; un vaste hall omnisports, des infrastructures tennistiques, des sites d’escalade, de spéléologie et de sports nautiques ; le fleuve et le Bocq, rendez-vous des chevaliers de la gaule…
De nombreuses promenades pédestres balisées et des circuits-vélo détaillés invitent à sillonner une région magnifique et à découvrir de plus près ses beautés, ses curiosités et ses gens.

De la simple tente en camping organisé à la chambre d’hôte prestigieuse, du resto sympa au relais gastronomique étoilé…les possibilités d’hébergement et de restauration y sont nombreuses et diversifiées et concourent de la plus belle manière au renom de l’accueil d’Yvoir et de ses environs. 
 
Bienvenue à tous !

 

 
up
up